World Championship Soccer (0)

World Championship Soccer
First release date
Amiga Genesis Sega Master System Atari ST Commodore 64 ZX Spectrum PC
Elite Systems Ltd. Magnussoft Deutschland GmbH Sega
World Cup Italia '90 World Cup Soccer Super Futebol


World Championship Soccer (JP: World Cup Soccer, EU: World Cup Italia '90, SA: Super Futebol) is a Genesis soccer game and the first of its genre for the system. It is based on the 1990 World Cup event, which for that year was set in Italy, and features 24 international sides competing for the titular trophy. The game features a top-down, vertically-oriented perspective of the pitch.

Because the game was created several months before the 1990 World Cup, even before the qualifying rounds had concluded, the twenty-four teams the game features would not correlate to the actual twenty-four that competed in the event.


Included below is an alphabetical list of all the teams that competed in the 1990 World Cup as well as the teams that are featured in this game. An underlined country means the team appears in the game but did not actually qualify. A bolded country is a team that did qualify, but does not feature in the game.

  • Algeria
  • Argentina
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Cameroon
  • China PR
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Czechoslovakia
  • Denmark
  • Egypt
  • England
  • France
  • Republic of Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Hungary
  • Mexico
  • Morocco
  • Netherlands
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Scotland
  • Spain
  • South Korea
  • Soviet Union
  • Sweden
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • West Germany
  • Yugoslavia